Pennsylvania

Stormwater Coalition

February 13, 2012

The Honorable Patrick Meehan U.S. House of Representatives 513 Cannon House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Congressman Meehan:

I am writing concerning the federal National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES). Under new regulations promulgated by EPA to meet requirements of the Clean Streams Act, Pennsylvania municipalities are required to have an NPDES permit for discharge from their stormwater systems. The Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) administers this program in the Commonwealth.

The 57 municipalities of the Pennsylvania Stormwater Coalition have been working very closely with the DEP on new regulations for what is commonly called PAG-13, the department's General Permit that municipalities must obtain as part of the NPDES. The permit establishes minimum control measures (MCM's) that municipalities agree to take to control stormwater runoff and to manage the quality of stormwater that discharges from their municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4) and then into the waters of the Commonwealth. The municipalities have closely monitored the development of these regulations because it is possible that compliance with some provisions could have a significant financial impact on their budgets.

One area that was of concern to the Coalition was whether a municipality would be responsible for all stormwater generated within its boundaries, i.e. "Urbanized Area," or only stormwater carried by conveyances that a municipality owned and operated. That is why we were very pleased to be told by EPA and DEP representatives at a January 5, 2012 training session that a municipality would only be responsible for stormwater carried by conveyances. This was a very important determination. We appreciate the consideration of the EPA and DEP in making this decision.

The Stormwater Coalition will continue to work with DEP to ensure that the PAG-13 regulations adequately protect our environment and are reasonable, responsible and attainable, while not creating significant financial hardships for municipalities.

Thank you for your time and service.

Sincerely,

Michael Ity Michael J. Fox

Chairman

cc: EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson DEP Secretary Michael Krancer Pennsylvania Stormwater Coalition members

Letters Were Sent to the Following Individuals:

The Honorable Bob Brady The Honorable Robert P. Casey The Honorable Charlie Dent The Honorable Michael Fitzpatrick The Honorable James Gerlach The Honorable Tim Holden The Honorable Patrick Meehan The Honorable Allyson Schwartz The Honorable Pat Toomey